Super Soup!

So after my first week back at work I am feeling a bit run down. Both Andy and Leo have colds, Leo also has tonsilitus and I think their bugs have passed on.

No one wants to be ill. It’s horrible.  I have a few fail safes I usually follow (paracetamol, ibuprofen, decongestants – the non paracetamol type, extra strong lemon tea with honey, fruit juice and extra vitamin c and b supplements work wonders!)

But I only have 2 days to improve so I needed to add a boost my regime!

A few years ago there was a show on BBC called grow your own drugs with a chef called James Wong. He gave us a recipe for special chicken soup and I figured I would give it a go.

Feeling like this? Yeah right! Who wants to do that much work when they feel like this?!?!

So I tried to design my own take. I think it helped! This recipe serves 2 but I ate it all myself lol. The best part is they are all ingredients you can keep in the cupboard (except the mushrooms unless you use dried instead)

Souper soup to soup you up (sorry I couldn’t resist!)

2 mushrooms
2tbsp dried goji berries
1 packet chicken noodle soup mix (simmer not cup – I used Morrison’s)
1dsp cornflower
1 nest noodles
1/4tsp Chinese 5 spice
Water
Olive oil

Start by putting your goji berries (and mushrooms if using dried) in a bowl and cover with hot water to rehydrate them. If you have any echinecea powder add it here (I didn’t include it as I didn’t have any).

If using fresh slice the mushrooms and cook gently in a pan with the olive oil. Once yellowed add the goji berries including the water they were soaking in.

Pour in the soup mix and gradually add a pint of water stirring regularly. 

Add the 5 spice and noodles, bring to the boil and simmer.

If, like me, you like a thicker soup mix the cornflower with 3dsp water in a bowl until smooth, add to the soup and stir constantly whilst simmering to thicken it up. Once the noodles are cooked and the soup is the desired consistency then its done.

Nice and simple. Let me know how it goes for you 🙂

inspired by recipe on this page <—- if you want James' version (which is probably a lot better than mine) you can find it here.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

